Trials And Tribulations Of Finishing Uni

One of the best moments in my life was graduating Uni with a 1st class degree. Me?! I managed to achieve a 1st?! I busted my ass day and night and sacrificed so much and got what I deserved! Finding a job can’t be that hard now can it I’m surely going to own a Ferrari :D…… Well you bald mug you were wrong!ย I have always been a motivated person, strong willed and resilient but my time after University made me seriously question these qualities I previously thought I had.

My time after Uni sounded a little like this:

Mate 1: “Aaron I got a job in Accounting 23k starting!”

Me: “Well done mate you deserve it”

Mate 2: “Aaron I got a job in Marketing 20k and there paying for me to study further”

Me: “Well done darling you deserve it”

Mate3 :”Aaron i’m working in china in recruitment 25k and accommodation paid for”

Me: “Amazing I hope you have a fantastic time”

Mate 4: “Aaron”

Mate 5: “Aaron”

Mate 6: “Aaron”

 

Hold on! Where the fuck is my amazing job?!!!!!! I’m not an envious person but I did really well, worked my ass off and people who didn’t are in amazing jobs progressing with their lives and i’m on pause like a scratched DVD. It wasn’t as if I wasn’t trying either, Id apply for ten jobs a day and trust me I have the job log on excel to prove it.

My money started getting low (practically non existent) I was at home bored, my life felt like a complete mess. I almost began to feel like I was owed something! I wanted a career in marketing and felt as though it was unattainable and I should just pack it in and get an admin role somewhere and just do a job I’d hate. Many people told me to do that as well! but I thought to myself…. Think how many times people told Obama he couldn’t be president and i’m pretty sure he’s the geezer in the white house at the mo! So I persisted and persisted and my breakthrough came!

I’m a strong believer that there’s a reason for everything whether it be good or bad and when things come hard they taste that much sweeter. I strongly believe the hard spell I had after Uni helped me to become super motivated and learn as much as I can to propel myself to the next level. It’s easy to play the victim role and question “Why is this happening to me?” but this achieves absolutely nothing, ACTION does.

Weather your dream is big or small just keep at it never let anyone sway you!

-Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not: nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not: the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent-

 

pursuit.png

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Trials And Tribulations Of Finishing Uni

  1. neffy93

    So true and I also believe a little in fate, but lining yourself up ready and prepared to take the break when it comes. I had a post grad experience where I had a position to go I to before finishing uni but it was not what it seemed and its taken two years to right the wrongs of that decision …and a lot of hard work. I feel more now as if I earned it and so it feels less of a mistake. Sometimes there are many paths to the end goal.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Timothy Blessing Mulenga

    I can so relate to this post, just graduated uni with a good masters in Aerospace Engineering yet I cannot find a job. All my mates have good jobs earning over 30k and I am still waiting. But I know eventually mine will come too. Great post, it really resonated.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. aaronsbaldinit

    I truly believed Uni was the hard part over but really its just the beginning! I wish someone had told me that! Maybe I could have dealt with the trials and tribulations a bit better but it’s all a learning curve I just hope people can takeaway from my posts! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

